Posts Tagged ‘Ray Mang’


It’s been a while since we’ve posted something, time and inspiration are precious things! Anyway, like every year we’re doing a ‘best of 2010’ list. A list that contains all our favorite ‘dancefloor’-killers of the latest 12 months. Last year we did a ridiculously long list of 50 records, so this year we tried to keep it as short as possible, only our 10 favorites. It wasn’t very difficult to pick out five or six incredible records, but seperating the ‘good’ from the ‘very good’ wasn’t always easy. There are probably some surprises (although not to many we suppose) but like every year there are some tracks that really deserved more attention.

Our track of the year is the titletrack of Aeroplane‘s debut album ‘We Can’t Fly’. What a vibe and what a production. A 100 bpm summer reggae-disco stomper that made us smile everytime we heard it. Too bad that the rest of the album could not compete with this stand-out track.

Number two is ‘Beam Me Up’ by a relatively new act called Midnight Magic. Most dj’s preferred the Jacques Renault remix, which we couldn’t really understand because the original version is an incredible disco track with absolutely great vocals and a tremendous catchy bassline.

At number three you can find ‘the nu-disco track of 2010’: Tensnake‘s ‘Coma Cat’. Released in January on Permanent Vacation, but later on the year picked up by Defected. You could even hear it on Belgian national radio.. Do we need to say more?

Our own Belgian house-pride FCL, which is San Soda and WPH-labelboss Red D made it to number four with their instant old school house classic ‘Let’s Go’. Incredible house record that you really should have in your bag!

We reserved number five for a relatively underestimated record: Chmmr with ‘Love Will Lead U Back’. We didn’t heard many fuzz around this track, haven’t heard any other dj playing or charting it.  Which is very strange, because it’s an incredible piano-house track with very catchy percussion. We saw a lot of smiling faces when playing this one!

Another track that didn’t got the attention it deserved is ‘Crazy Meera’ by Red Fulka.  Hard to descripe this record, but you certainly should take a listen to it. It has also that warm summery vibe in it (maybe we’re just longing for the summer).

For number seven we choosed ‘Look Into My Eyes’ that was released early this year on DFA. Ray Mang‘s own version of the classic Tangerine Dream track. Very dreamy, very beautiful version!

Another usual suspect in the end-of-the-year-lists is Morgan Geist. In 2010 he came up with a new moniker ‘Storm Queen’ and released the fantastic ‘Look Right Through’. Morgan Geist equals quality, we know that by now.

At nine we find the first edit of our chart. There were a lot of edits released in 2010; which actually means a lot of crap and a few exceptional great ones. Dr. Dunks – No P’s is one of those rare great ones. Very nice groove in this one, Dolly Parton was never so hot as in 2010!

Another edit at number 10: Justin Vandervolgen put himself really on the edit-map. Most of his output was high quality stuff, certainly ‘Get To My Baby’ under his Try To Find Me alter ego on Golf Channel.

1. Aeroplane – We Can’t Fly (Extended Drums Mix) [ESKIMO]

2. Midnight Magic – Beam Me Up [PERMANENT VACATION]

3. Tensnake – Coma Cat [PERMANENT VACATION]


5. CHMMR – Love Will Lead U Back [LUNAFLICKS]

6. Red Fulka – Crazy Meera [ELEVATOR PEOPLE]

7. Ray Mang – Look Into My Eyes [DFA RECORDS]

8. Storm Queen – Look Right Through (Vox) [ENVIRON]

9. Dr. Dunks – No P’s [KEEP IT CHEAP]

10. Try To Find Me – Get To My Baby [GOLF CHANNEL]

We hope y’all had a great 2010 and we wish you all the best for the new year! Feel free to comment with your own charts by the way..


1. Tensnake – Coma Cat EP

2. Ray Mang – Look Into My Eyes

3. SMD – Cruel Intentions (Maurice Fulton Remix)

4. Moby – Wait For Me (Villa Remix)

5. FCL – Vocals For Everyone EP

6. Polargeist – Home From The Can (Tensnake Remix)

7. Steffi ft. Elif Bicer – Kill Me

8. Heaven & Earth – Time And Space

9. Jan Turkenburg – In My Spaceship (Pilooski Edit)

10. Mustang – Chameleon Circus EP


1. Azari & III – Reckless With Your Love

2. Dynamodyse  – Gare Du Nord

3. Rocha – Hands Of Love (Mugwump Remix)

4. Jessica 6 – Fun Girl (Liv Spencer Remix)

5. Tony Lionni – Treat Me Right EP

6. Maxim Lany – First Love

7. Spirit Catcher – Beezy Operator

8. Neurotic Drum Band – Robotic Hypnotic Adventure

9. Lil Tony – Underground Of Helsinki EP

10. Marius – Jet Set (Ray Mang Remixes)


1. Azari & III – Reckless (With Your Love)

2. Dosem – Beach Kisses (Joris Voorn Green Remix)

3. Still Going – Untitled Love

4. Mudd -54B (Ray Mang Remixes)

5. Haïto Göpfrich – Non Plus Ultra

6. We See Us – We See Us (White Label)

7. Elias Rahbani – Liza (Golf Channel Edit)

8. Canyons – Fire Eyes

9. Joakim – Spiders

10. A Mountain Of One – Bones (Hous Of House Remix)



We already knew for a long time that the great 45:33 album by LCD Soundsystem would get a hugh remix treatment. Well, finally there are some official details available. There will be four 12″ records and a cd with all the remixes. The remix vinyls will be released at the end of september. Vinyl 1 will contain remixes by upcoming stars Runaway and Norwegian disco god Prins Thomas. The second disc will have remixes by Berlin’s techno specialist Riley Reinhold and Trus’me. For the 3th remix vinyl they asked the french producer Pilooski and the detroit legend Theo Parrish, and the 4th and last vinyl contains remixes by DC Recordings artist Padded Cell and DFA‘s own Prince Language.

The 45:33 Remix package is not the only remix package coming out on DFA soon, there’s also a Juan Maclean‘s Happy House remix package in the pipeline. Which will contain remixes by Lazaro Casanova, Paul Woolford, Matthew Dear and Château Flight.

Also look out for the second Still Going 12″ called Spaghetti Circus/ Untitled Love and for Modular artists Canyons, who will release their first 12″ on DFA ‘Fire Eyes’ at the end of August. Very promising stuff so keep an eye on these guys!

Another new artist on DFA, but certainly not a rookie, is Ray Mang. He will release a new 3-tracker which will contain ‘Look Into My Eyes’; Ray Mang‘s own version of Tangerine Dream‘s ‘Love On A Real Train’, a song where we were already looking forward to for a long time. Damn we love those trancey keys!

Last but not least there will also be a second single from Holy Ghost! ‘I Will Come Back’ And good news because it is available for free download here together with the DJ Mehdi & Classixx remixes. Later on there will be also a version by Newcleus. (Yes, the 80’s electrofunk-masters!)